Create and edit project updates

Have more questions? Submit a request

Project updates are snippets of information that can be used to provide project followers and general users with ongoing updates. Project updates can be simple copy updates, or through the use of blocks and groups, can be more comprehensive.

 

Create a project update

To create a project update for your project:

  1. In the left-hand menu bar, click Projects. This displays a list of all existing projects.
  2. Click on a Title to open a project.
  3. In the project sub-menu, under Content, click Updates. This shows all the updates created for this project.
  4. Click on the + icon located on the right hand side of the screen.
  5. Add a Title.
  6. Add a Summary.
  7. Add Body. This is the detail of your update. Editing updates has the same functionality as editing your main project page. You can use the text editor to add rich text, and add blocks to add other kinds of content. For more information about the text editor see How to use the WYSIWYG editor.
  8. Use blocks (Add block) or groups (Add group) to add further content if required. For more information about content blocks, see How to use content blocks and groups.
  9. Add an Image to your update (this is optional). This image will display on the Updates tab of your main project page.
  10. Once you’ve finished editing, click Publish.

 

Where do project updates display on the site?

Creating an update automatically add an 'Updates' tab to your frontend project page. This tab will list all the project updates.

image (11).png

Edit an update

To edit an existing update:

  1. In the left-hand menu bar, click Projects. This displays a list of all existing projects.
  2. Click on a Title to open a project.
  3. In the project sub-menu, under Content, click Updates. This shows all the updates that already exist for this project.
  4. Select the update you want to edit. Click on the ellipsis icon at the end of the row to show more options. Click Edit.
  5. Alternatively, click on the update you want to edit, then click the Edit tab.
  6. When you’re finished editing, click Publish.

 

Unpublish an update

You can unpublish individual updates from a project without affecting the other content. The update will be automatically removed from anywhere it’s current displayed or linked to.

To unpublish an update:

  1. In the left-hand menu bar, click Projects. This displays a list of all existing projects.
  2. Click on a Title to open a project.
  3. In the project submenu, under Content, click Updates. This shows all the updates that already exist for this project.
  4. Click on the update you want to unpublish.
  5. At the top right of the screen, are your Publish options. Choose Unpublished from the dropdown menu.
  6. Click Save.

 

Delete an update

You can delete an update from a project if it’s no longer needed, or was created by mistake. This permanently removes the update and all its content and cannot be undone. Proceed with caution!

Note: you may not have delete permissions as part of your role. If you have any questions about your permissions, contact your District Engage administrator.

To delete an update:

  1. In the left-hand menu, click Projects. This displays a list of all existing projects.
  2. Click on a Title to open a project.
  3. In the project sub-menu, under Content, click Updates. This shows all the updates that already exist for this project.
  4. Select the Update you want to delete. Click on the ellipsis icon at the end of the row to show more options. Click Delete.
  5. You’ll be prompted with a warning to confirm the action. Click Yes, Delete this update.
  6. Your update is now deleted.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful