Create and edit a project timeline

Have more questions? Submit a request

A timeline allows you to show the trajectory of your project, including its current status, what has happened in the past, and future stages.

Create a new timeline or add a new stage to your timeline

To create a new timeline for your project:

  1. In the left-hand menu bar, click Projects. This displays a list of all existing projects.
  2. Click on a Title to open a project.
  3. In the project sub-menu, under Content, click Timeline. This will display all the timeline stages already created for this project.
  4. Click on the + icon located on the right hand side of the screen.
  5. Add a Title.
  6. Add a description in the Body. Editing timeline stages has the same functionality as editing your main project page. You can use the text editor to add rich text, and add blocks to add other kinds of content. For more information about the text editor, See How to use the WYSIWYG editor.
  7. Add additional content if required (Add block or Add group). For more information about content blocks, see How to use content blocks and groups.
  8. Add a Start Date and End Date, either by typing the dates into the field or clicking on the calendar icon. If you want these dates to display differently on the front end, add display text in the fields provided.
  9. When you’ve finished editing, click Publish.

Where on your site does the timeline display?

Creating and publishing a timeline stage will automatically trigger the creation of a 'Timeline’ tab in the public project menu.

image (12).png

Edit a timeline

To edit an existing timeline:

  1. In the left-hand menu bar, click Projects. This displays a list of all existing projects.
  2. Click on a Title to open a project.
  3. In the project sub-menu, under Content, click Timeline. This displays all the timeline stages that already exist for this project.
  4. Select the stage you want to edit. Click on the ellipsis icon at the end of the row to show more options. Click Edit.
  5. When you’re finished editing, click Publish.

 

Unpublish a timeline stage

You can unpublish individual timeline stages from a project without affecting the other content. The page will be automatically removed from anywhere it’s current displayed or linked to.

To unpublish a timeline stage:

  1. In the left-hand menu bar, click Projects. This displays a list of all existing projects.
  2. Click on a Title to open a project.
  3. In the project sub-menu, under Content, click Timeline. This displays all the timeline stages that already exist for this project.
  4. Select the stage you want to edit. Click on the ellipsis icon at the end of the row to show more options.
  5. Click Edit to edit the timeline stage.
  6. At the top right of the screen, next to the Publish button, are your publishing options. Choose Unpublish from the dropdown menu.
  7. Add a revision message to record why you are making the change. Click Confirm.

 

Delete a timeline

You can delete a timeline stage from a project if it’s no longer needed, or was created by mistake. This permanently removes the timeline stage and all its content and cannot be undone. Proceed with caution!

Note: you may not have delete permissions as part of your role. If you have any questions about your permissions, contact your District Engage administrator.

To delete a timeline stage:

  1. In the left-hand menu bar, click Projects. This displays a list of all existing projects.
  2. Click on a Title to open a project.
  3. In the project sub-menu, under Content, click Timeline. This displays all the timeline stages that already exist for this project.
  4. Select the stage you want to edit. Click on the ellipsis icon at the end of the row to show more options. Click Delete.
  5. You’ll be prompted with a warning to confirm the action. Click Yes, Delete this Stage.
  6. Your timeline stage is now deleted.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful